Lifers – M.A. Griffin

IMG_5084

Fear haunts the streets of Manchester: a schoolgirl has disappeared.Preston is drawn to investigate, exploring the city in the hunt for his missing friend. Deep in the bowels of a secret scientific institute, he discovers a sinister machine, used to banish criminal teenagers for their offences.Captured and condemned to the cavernous dimension, Preston is determined to escape – but this is no ordinary jail.Friendships are forged and lives lost in a reckless battle for freedom, revenge – and revolution.

 My Thoughts:

When you think of YA, what’s the first thing that pops into your head? A girl? A boy? A love story? I know that’s definitely what comes to my mind. So to find a book like Lifers, which is not centred around love, and doesn’t have a mental illness, or health problem, thrown into the mix, is like taking a breath of fresh air. Don’t get me wrong; romance and love stories are one of my favourite genres, if not my total favourite, it’s just sometimes I need a break, and there aren’t many YA books out at the moment that can satisfy my craving for adventure.

But Lifers certainly did that. I was hooked from the first few chapters, turning pages late at night to find out what peril the characters would be in next, and never having a chance to catch my breath.

The characters definitely brought the story to life even more – with Mace’s comical nature bringing a lighter aspect to the terrifying streets of Dark Manchester, and Ellwood’s feisty, cool attitude making an interesting addition.

The use of a dystopian, sci-fi twist on the Manchester we know today was a mysterious and frightening idea that only added to the tension and suspense that ran throughout the book.

I would recommend Lifers to fans of The Maze Runner, and Alex Rider.

4 Hearts Rating

My Rating: 4/5

One thought on “Lifers – M.A. Griffin

Leave a Reply

